RITC Reflections


As mentioned in my previous post, I just returned from my first overseas conference in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Here are my reflections in short:

1. It’s great to see educators from other countries sharing their innovative ideas in the form of poster presentations. I will post more photos of posters I took later.

2. It’s a valuable experience to work together with overseas educators on a group project. Having a common goal of using ICT in education breaks all cultural and language barriers.

3. It’s a wonderful opportunity to network with overseas educators. I have to admit I’m a shy person but I managed to chat with Anne Mirtschin on her amazing global classroom project. It’s the first time I met up with an overseas edublogger! I was quite overwhelmed at first! Haha!

4. I look forward to future opportunities to learn, share and collaborate with educators from all over the world🙂

2 comments

  1. murcha

    Hello Tucksoon, it was great to meet you too. I hope that we can work together on a project or two or more. I loved the conference too and the connections that we were able to make. Who won the poster award for Singapore? Let me know if you would like to try videoconferencing with at some stage. I love blogging and that is what has started me off on the wonderful journey that we have made into global projects, videoconferencing and virtual classrooms.

  2. tucksoon

    Hi Anne, Chee Leong who did the excellent Digital Video Drama (D.V.D) was the deserving winner.

    I would love to try out video conferencing. In fact recently our school had a couple of video conferencing with a Brunei school using Skype. We did that in front of 1200 odd students as an assembly programme! That was done in conjunction with the International Friendship Day. During the video conference we shared food culture. It was quite amazing. Video and audio quality was surprisingly good.

    I think many educators tend to shy away from video conferencing due to misconception that it is very laggy and requires high level of technical knowledge. I believe with improved technologies and bandwidth, video conferencing in education is going to thrive, especially when it comes to flat, virtual classrooms.

Leave a Reply

